Neepawa finishes atop the medal standings at Zone 7 track and field championship


Neepawa Area Collegiate finished atop the medal count at the Manitoba High Schools Athletic Association Zone 7 track and field championship, held on Tuesday, May 27. 

The Neepawa Tigers high school track team finished with 18 gold, 13 silver and six bronze, while William Morton Collegiate (Gladstone) and Minnedosa Collegiate finished in second and third place respectively.

Among the medal winners for Neepawa were Emily Dobson, who finished in first place in the junior varsity girls 100-metre dash, finishing with a time of 13.96, while Taylor Allen ended up in second with a time of 14.27. Dobson and Allen repeated their finish in the 200-metre, finishing one-two with times of 28.81 and 29.93. 

Danielle Hanke had a big day as well, with first place finishes in the girls junior varsity 800-metre, 1500-metre and shot put (four kg) events. 

Meanwhile, Amy Todoruk put forth a solid performance with four varsity girls medals with first place finishes in the 100-metre with a time of 13.50; 800-metre tetrathlon with a time of 3:03.55; and long jump tetrathlon with a jump of 4.00-metres. Brooke deKoning also picked up a gold in the 80-metre hurdles with a time of 14.46.

Turning to the boys results, Will Bernie came away with a gold in the junior varsity 100-metre with a time of 12.55; he also finished in first in the high jump with a jump of 1.45 metres. Dillan Neufeld also picked up a bronze in the junior varsity boys discus with a throw of 32.16 metres. 

Varsity boys results saw Bryson Kaye and Jason Doerksen finish second and third in the 100-metre with times of 11.81 and 12.04 respectively. 

Logan Young had a big day as well, coming away with a gold in the 1500-metre with a time of 4:33.30; and 3000-metre with a time of 9:32.57. He was also a member of the distance medley team that finished in first in points. The rest of the team consisted of Jason Doerksen, Rylin Mitchler and Wyatt Salmon. 

Daniel Heschuk ended up with three second place finishes in the 800-metre with a time of 2:15.91; the 1500-metre with a time of 4:33.77 and the 3000-metre with a time of 9:32.90.

Meanwhile, Cole Tardiff, Rylin Mitchler and Bryson Kaye finished one-two-three in high jump with times of 1.80, 1.75 and 1.70 metres respectively. While in the javelin throw (700g) event, Braedon Mitchell (gold), Cody Pasowisty (silver) and Preston James (bronze) also took over the medal podium with throws of 35.88, 33.55 and 32.98 metres respectively.