NACI cross-country track


NACI Track

The Neepawa Area Colligiate Institute (NACI) Tigers cross country track team.


By Eoin Devereux

Neepawa Banner & Press

A pair of Neepawa athletes earned top spot on the podium at the MHSAA Cross Country Zone competition, held Sept. 27 in Spruce Woods.

Lara Denbow of Neepawa Area Collegiate Institute (NACI) finished first in the junior varsity girls three kilometre (3K) run, with a time of 12:37.6. Rounding out the top five where Annika Duguay (Carberry), Megan Beswitherick (MacGregor), Amy Haw (MacGregor) and Katie Kozub (Erickson). NACI’s Madison Kilburn and Meagan Rossnagel finished sixth and ninth, respectively, in that same race.

Meanwhile, Ben Perrett finished well ahead of the pack in varsity boys 5K, with a 17:01.2 run time. That was nearly three minutes clear of second place finisher, Burke Ericksen of Carberry. Dylan Devloo, Russell Adriaansen and Jory Aitken, all of Carberry, finished third through fifth in the standings. Zachary Enns drew sixth spot with his run of 23:30.6.

Another notable result from a NACI athlete included a second place finish for Neepawa’s Zachary Joss, in the JV boys 5K run (20:43.7 run time). Bowen Wallis, of Minnedosa, finished first, with a time of 18:35.6. Other first place results included MacGregor’s Amy Klippenstein winning the varsity girls 3K (19:55.5).