Yellowhead Chiefs update - Jan. 5, 2018



Neepawa Banner & Press

Female Midget Chiefs top Central Plains

Four goals in the first period helped power the Yellowhead Chiefs to a 6-2 win over the Central Plains Capitals in Manitoba Female Midget Hockey League action. Sadie Wood of Rivers scored a pair of goals and added two assists in the victory on Thursday, Jan. 4 at the Shoal Lake Communiplex.

Ryle Gluska (Neepawa), Jena Barscello (Brandon), Sydney Murray (Hamiota) and Megan Quesnel (Dauphin) all added singles, while Neepawa’s Sadie McIntosh earned the win between the pipes for the Chiefs, with a 34 save effort.

With the win, Yellowhead moved into second place in the standings, with a 10-6-2 record. The Chiefs are now five points back of the first place Winnipeg Avros (10-5-4. 28 points). 

McIntosh wins Goalie of the Month award

Sadie McIntosh of the Yellowhead Chiefs has been selected as the MFMHL-GDI Goaltender of the Month for December. McIntosh, a grade 11 student attending Neepawa Area Collegiate Institute, won both games she started during the month. She posted a goals against average (GAA) of 1.00 and save percentage of .959 for the month. For the year, McIntosh has a 1.37 GAA and save percentage of .936

Pair of Chiefs commit to Olds College

A pair of Yellowhead AAA Midget Female Chiefs have committed to Olds College of the Alberta College Athletic Conference (ACAC).Chief’s assistant captain, Rayna Bonchuk and goaltender Tori Eilers will attend school at and play hockey for the Broncos hockey program in the fall of 2018.  

Bonchuk’s work ethic, sportsmanship and her ‘lead from the front’ style, is in no small way a reflection of her rural roots and her farm upbringing.  Bonchuk will have played all three years with the Yellowhead Chiefs AAA Midget program, including her inaugural year with the MFMHL 2015/16 Champions.  This season, Bonchuk leads the youthful Chief’s defensive squad, her work ethic and lead-by-example set the pace at practice. Bonchuk is also a considerable offensive threat with ability to move the puck through the neutral zone, jump into an offensive charge and to quarterback the attack from the blueline.

Bonchuk hails from the rural area of Birtle Mb where she attends Birtle Collegiate Institute. She is an accomplished student, earning the 2016/17 Gold Award of excellence in Academic Achievement and named the the 2014/15 school Female Athlete of the Year.  Her many academic and sport honours are a true indication of her dedication and athleticism.

Eilers entered the MFMHL in the 2015/16 season playing for the Norman Wild where she earned accolades for her goaltending prowess.  She joined the Yellowhead Chiefs in the 2016-17 season posting an impressive 1.92 goals against average (GAA) and .922 save percentage. In the 2017/18 season she asserted herself early by earning MFMHL October goaltending honours.  She has a 5-3-1 record in this year’s extremely competitive league standings, and currently holds a 2.22 GAA and a .923 save percentage. 

Eilers hails from Virden MB and is a three time honours student who attends Virden Collegiate High School. 

Bantam Chiefs earn all-star nods

Five members of the Yellowhead Bantam Male Chiefs have been selected for the 2018 AAA Winnipeg B1 All Star Day. Defensemen Brandt Young of Neepawa, along with goaltender Tresor Wotton (Foxwarren) and forwards Briley Wood (Rivers), Sloan Stanick (Rapid City) and Colby Wotton (Foxwarren) will play in the game, which is scheduled for Saturday, Jan. 13 at the BellMTS Iceplex in Winnipeg. Along with the game itself, the players will also take part in a skills competition. 

As well, these five players and eight of their Bantam Chiefs teammates were recently involved in the Manitoba Winter Games Christmas Camp.  The event was held on Dec. 29-30 and is a precursor to the Winter Games, which are scheduled for Thompson from Mar. 4-7. The players will be a part of one of six regional teams that will play in the hockey tournament. The complete list of players includes:

Mitchell Collyer (Onanole)

Colin Crampian (Hamiota)

Conor Geekie (Strathclair)

Tanner Hanson (Onanole)

Scott Lane (Strathclair)

Rory McNabb (Hamiota)

Curtis Muir (Vista)

Sloan Stanick (Rapid City)

Ryland Taylor (Sioux Valley)

Briley Wood (Rivers)

Colby Wotton (Foxwarren)

Tresor Wotton (Foxwarren)

Brandt Young (Neepawa)