Csversko receives Sport Manitoba award


Eoin Devereux
Neepawa Banner & Press

Manitoba’s best coaches were recently recognized for their leadership and a familiar local name was amongst those that were honoured.  John Csversko of Neepawa recently received the Global News Active for Life Award at the 2018 Coaching Manitoba Impact Awards in Winnipeg. Csversko was recognized for his dedication and contributions to the sport of curling.

He has been involved with coaching for well over 30 years, including a 15 year stint with the Terry Ursel rink. In total, six coaches in a variety of sports were singled out for their outstanding achievements, with Csversko being the only non-Winnipeg based coach to be recognized this year.

Jeff Hnatiuk, President and CEO of Sport Manitoba, said the awards are designed to acknowledge the contributions a coach has made to his or her sport and athletes over a number of years.

“Coaches teach, develop, and shape the future of amateur sport. It’s our honour to celebrate these community leaders and their tireless, outstanding contributions over their careers,” stressed Hnatiuk.

Csversko was surprised and humbled by the recognition, noting that it’s not something that he got involved in coaching for.

“I’m not one who searches for the spotlight in this way. I’d rather give the attention to the players, who’s hard work and skill end up making me look good. Usually even better than what I’ve contributed,” Csversko stated, with a chuckle. “I’m grateful for the recognition from Sport Manitoba, but the real reward from all this is seeing players I coached all those years ago, passing on the knowledge. They’ve moved on and started coaching the next generations. That’s a real pleasure to see them helping others on down the road.”

Along with the Coaching Manitoba Impact Awards, Sport Manitoba also handed out the hardware during the annual Night of Champions. Notable award winners included CFL running back Andrew Harris of Winnipeg winning Male Athlete of the Year and Olympic hockey player Brigette Lacquette of Dauphin receiving Female Athlete award. The team of the year prize was given to the Winnipeg Goldeyes baseball club, who won their second straight American Association Championship in 2017.