MJHL reduces roster spots for 20-year-olds


MJHL Media Release


Keeping in alignment with its philosophy of developing young players, the Manitoba Junior Hockey League (MJHL) will limit the number of 20-year-olds a team can register to eight players, effective this upcoming season.

Moving forward, teams will be limited to seven and six, 20-year-olds for 2019-20 and 2020-21, respectively.

This was one of several items approved recently at the league’s annual Board of Governors meeting. Other notable items passed included approval of a motion that requires all clubs to broadcast their home games in high definition (HD) quality on the Hockey TV broadcast service that is available for all league games. As well, teams will each play a 60 game balanced schedule. It will include 29 home, 29 away and 2 games at the 15th annual Old Dutch Player Showcase, which will be held Dec. 9 – 12, at the Seven Oaks Rec Centre in Winnipeg, MB. The schedule for the Showcase will be released when the regular season schedule is posted later in June.

Around the league

The Neepawa Natives have traded defensemen Mason Waite and forward Brett Namaka to the Selkirk Steelers in exchange for goaltender Niklas Anderson, forwards Nathan Driver and Reid Robertson, as well as future considerations. In 51 games last season for Neepawa, Namaka registered 23 points (12 goals - 11 assists).

The Board of Governors has approved a motion that will see the league’s annual award presented to the top goaltender be renamed the Ed Belfour Top Goaltender Trophy effective for the 2018-2019 season.