Keeler takes top prize at Rosebowl Golf Championship


Rosebowl 2018 winner

NGCC general manager and CPGA golf pro Landon Cameron (on right) presents the Rosebowl Championship trophy to Kenny Keeler of the Portage la Prairie Golf and Country Club.


By Eoin Devereux

Neepawa Banner & Press

Kenny Keeler of the Portage la Prairie has won the 2018 edition of the Neepawa Golf and Country Club’s Rosebowl tournament. Keeler was able to hold off the strong challenge of Brad Pardy in the final day of the event on Monday, Sept. 3 to claim the championship flight of the matchplay event. This was Keeler’s second time competing in the Rosebowl and first time winning it all.

After the event, Keeler noted that up until this past weekend, he had not played the course in Neepawa this year. He said that did add a bit of a challenge, but that he altered his play accordingly to deal with it. 

“When you are dealing with an unfamiliar course, it’s important to play smart out there. You have to keep the mistakes to a minimum on that first day while you’re getting a feel for how the course is playing. Once I got a sense of how [the course] laid out, I was able to push a little bit harder. Second and third day, I was fortunate with some of my shots and was able to get a few birdies on the [scorecard] early. That built the confidence and I was able to go from there.”  said Keeler. “Overall, I was pleased with how things progressed. It was a great weekend. Neepawa is a challenging course, but that’s what you want out there. You want to be challenged as a player. Landon [Cameron] and the staff here, put together a great event. [The Rosebowl] is a well regarded across the province as an event you want to be a part of and this years did not disappoint.” 

This year was the 56th edition of the Rosebowl Tournament, which is played under the match play scoring system, which consists of individual holes won, halved or lost. On each hole, the most that can be gained is one point.

2018 Rosebowl Championship

Championship flight

1st place. Ken Keeler

2nd place. Brad Pardy


Winner. Derek Cameron

Runner-up. Grant Jacobsen


First flight

1st place. Wyatt Rapsky

2nd place Mike Evenson


Winner. Derek Benson

Runner-up. Nathan White


Second flight

1st place. Greg Starr

2nd place. Austin Gwilt


Winner. Ryan McLean

Runner-up. Darcy Howarth


Third flight

1st place. Brad McConnell

2nd place Kevin Taylor


Winner. Mark Williams

Runner-up. Tyler Stewart



Fourth flight

1st place. Jim White

2nd place. Dustin Sas


Winner. Randy Rioux

Runner-up. Warren McLeod


Fifth flight

1st place. Matt Saler

2nd place Braden Adamyk


Winner. Rodney White

Runner-up. Cory Jury


Sixth flight

1st place. Jeff Roulette Jr.

2nd place. Craig Johnston


Winner. Shaun MacSymic

Runner-up. Shawn Fletcher


Seventh flight

1st place. Ron Kulbacki

2nd place Richie Nicholson


Winner. Jeff Ejercito

Runner-up. Gary Barber