Change of command for Air Cadets




By Eoin Devereux

Neepawa Banner & Press


The #9 Royal Canadian Air Cadets hosted their 77th annual ceremonial review on Thursday, May 24 at the Yellowhead Arena in Neepawa. The event also featured the formal change of command for the squadron, as Captain Ryan Hunt has taken over the position from Captain Amanda Gregorash. 

Capt. Hunt had served as the commanding officer of #9 Neepawa Squadron from 2004-2009. After the commencement of the review, Hunt said that he’s honoured to return to the post.

“The change of command ceremony is deeply rooted within a long and storied military tradition. Throughout its history, [#9 Neepawa Air Cadet Squadron] has attracted young people from across Neepawa and the surrounding region. It has a rich history and continues to be a well regarded active squadron. I’m very pleased to be associated with it once again.”

Outgoing commander, Capt. Amanda Gregorash said that over the course of her three-year term, she had established a solid bond with the members of Air Cadets that’s she’s extremely proud of. 

“Each and every one of the cadets, honestly, they become your own children, almost. Every success that they have, you live it with them. Every time they receive a promotion or get accepted to camp; Any awards they get, you just feel it with them. It’s a wonderful experience to be the commanding officer. I can’t even put it into words just how fantastic it’s been for the past three years.” said Gregorash.

To go along with the change of command, several year-end awards were handed out. For the 2017 #9 Air Cadet Annual Ceremonial Review Awards, the recipients were as follows:


- Top Junior Cadet: Cpl Oscar Funk

- Top Senior Cadet: Sgt Dustin Macgregor 

- Top Overall Cadet: Cpl Brielle Piett

- Royal Canadian Legion Cadet Medal of Excellence: WO2 Yuri Song 

- Air Cadet Long Service Medal: WO2 Yuri Song


The #9 Royal Canadian Air Cadet Squadron is one of the longest-serving squadrons in all of Canada, tracing its history back to 1941.