Tribute to Tourism coming to Gladstone


By John Drinkwater

Neepawa Banner & Press

The 15th Annual Tribute to Tourism Awards Gala will take place on Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at the Gladstone Community Centre.  These awards recognize and celebrate the exceptional individuals, businesses, organizations, and communities within the Westman region that have made significant contributions to tourism development and promotion over the past year.

Awards will be given in six categories; Aspiring Youth, Event of the Year, Marketing Excellence, Partnership, Service Excellence and Volunteer of the Year.

A total of 26 nominations have been submitted from communities in Brandon, Carberry, Deloraine, Gladstone, Minnedosa, Neepawa, Ninette, Shoal Lake and Virden.

Nominees from within our newspaper coverage are as follows:

Rayna Topham, Minnedosa & Shay Sandy, Carberry (Aspiring Youth); Camp Hughs Heritage Day, Carberry & Neepawa Street Party (Event of the Year); Potato Truck Pull, Carberry (Marketing Excellence); Skate the Lake Minor Hockey, Minnedosa (Partnership); Wayne & Ruth Reiner, Gladstone & Dirty Lake Outfitters, Minnedosa (Service Excellence); Muriel McPhail, Carberry (Volunteer of the Year.