Tribute to Tourism award winners announced


Online-C- DSC0068

Photos by John Drinkwater

Top picture: All the award winners and nominees from the 2018 Tribute to Tourism.

By John Drinkwater

Neepawa Banner & Press

The 15th Annual Tribute to Tourism Awards Gala took place on Wednesday, June 13 at the Gladstone & District Community Centre. This event is organized by Tourism Westman and recognizes individuals, businesses, organizations and communities, who have made significant contributions to tourism development and promotion over the past year.

In total, 26 nominees were submitted this past year from across the Westman area. Winners from each of the six categories were:

Brandon First - Collaborative Online Marketing Initiative (Marketing Excellence Award); Dirty Lake Outfitters of  Minnedosa (Service Excellence Award);  Muriel McPhail from Carberry (Volunteer of the Year); Rayna Topham from Minnedosa (Aspiring Youth Award); Brandon Riverbank Inc. & City of Brandon - Festival Park Project (Partnership Award); Royal Canadian Legion National Youth Track & Field Championships from Brandon (Event of the Year)

Other notable local nominees from the region included Wayne and Ruth Reiner of Gladstone (Service Excellence nominees), Jordyn Griffin of Shoal Lake (Aspiring Youth), Minnedosa Skate the Lake Committee and Minnedosa Minor Hockey (Partnership) and the Neepawa Street Party (Event of the Year).

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees from this year’s gala.

Online-C- DSC0041Online-C- DSC0047Online-C- DSC0054

Above left: Barry Good of Dirty Lake Outfitters of Minnedosa.  Above centre Muriel McPhail of Carberry. Above right: Rayna Topham of Minnedosa.