Neepawa Figure Skating Club wind up fantastic season



Neepawa Banner & Press

Neepawa’s Ice Prec*Ice synchronized skating club came to a close on Saturday, Mar. 17 when they attended the Crocus Invitational Synchronized Skating Competition in Souris.

The Beginner Two team consisting of Althea Caberte, Sheen Calamba, Jayden Dafoe, Chaelyn Skomoraski, Cianna Larsen, Alyssa Latag, Olivia Koscielny, Anneke Scheper, Dimitri Smith, and Sydney Wolfe, skated to a silver ribbon for their final skate of the season. In total this team brought home two silver ribbons this year in competition.

The Pre-Juvenile team, Lil’ Ice Prec*Ice, consists of Ashley Bray, Zyrakate Bulusan, Ivory Gerring, Ashley Laus, Alyssa Nadeau, Ashley Nadeau, Claire Nicholson, Claire Scheper, Makenna Sumner and Amber Wahoski. This team was the only competitor in the pre-juvenile category again. They had a great skate earning them a personal best. Their gold medal in February at the Prairie Regional competition was the only time they competed against another team all season.

The Pre-Novice team, consisting of Annika Atkey, Claire Beaumont, Brooklyn Chartrand, Kara Ellis, Karissa Ellis, Cordelia Smith, Caitlin Stevenson and Kyla Wahoski, have had a whirlwind season. In their first competition they ended up in last place with a score of 18.17. They came home and worked hard to jump them up to 25.71 for a Bronze medal at the Prairie Regional Synchro competition.

That wasn’t good enough for this team as they knew they could still improve. They once again came home and reworked parts of their program so they would be at their best for the last competition of the season. In the Pre-Novice event, this team ended up winning the Gold medal with a score of 27.56! Ice Prec*Ice would like to thank both the NACI Tigers hockey team and the Neepawa Natives for allowing our team to perform at one of their games this season. Congratulations to all 3 teams, managers Rochelle Koscielny, Jocelyn Bray and Kim Smith as well as their fabulous coach, Cynthia Chartrand.