National Junior A Championship returning to Portage la Prairie in 2020



MJHL Media Release

Junior “A” Hockey’s premier event will return to Manitoba in 2020.

On Tuesday, Aug. 28, representatives with the Portage Terriers, along with MJHL commissioner Kim Davis announced that National Junior “A” Championship at Stride Place in Portage la Prairie.

Formerly known as the RBC Cup, this event was previously held in Portage in 2015. At that event, the Terriers won the national title, by defeating the Carleton Place Canadians of the CCHL in the final.

The annual tournament determines the Canadian Junior “A” Champion.  Back in 1970, Manitoba donated the Centennial Cup for the first year of the Championship and Hockey Canada decided that it was a great idea to return to Manitoba in 2020 for the 50th anniversary of the Championship. The 2019 event is scheduled to take place in Brooks, AB, home of the Brooks Bandits of the AJHL.